Bit of Beeching

I was up early to record the radio show, this morning, but even by the time I'd finished, the only other person stirring in the house was Abi, so I made her some bagels and then popped out for a swim. 

I had it in mind that after doing my lengths, I'd take a photo of the old Kirkby Lonsdale railway station, which is, in fact, some way away from the town. (That said, not as far as Dent railway station is from Dent, which, frankly, is a ludicrous state of affairs.) 

However, the station has been converted and added on to, and makes for a fairly dull picture, so I followed the line north towards Barbon and clambered up onto this bridge, which once carried the railway line. Someone has a little farm up here with some hen coops, although the hens appeared to be away foraging for the most part (I saw one still indoors).

I'd love to run up this old line but there are all sorts of fences and obstacles in the way. I wish Dr Beeching had kept the old railways as public footpaths.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.