Mist on the Lune

After last year's seven weeks of alcoholic abstinence leading up to the start off my 50th birthday celebrations, I've managed a bit more of a balanced approach this year. So far I've had 28 days where I haven't had a drink and when I have it's sometimes been as little as a bottle of beer. (Mind you, there have been two or three 'heavier' evenings!)

Since I discovered alcohol-free lager, it's been far less of a challenge to get around all the times when I would drink habitually, like when I sit down to write a blog post, for example. And I do feel better for drinking less, although I find it more difficult to get to sleep. The mornings have become a particular pleasure. 

Not that I used to wake up hungover every morning - very rarely, in fact - but I seem to wake more slowly now and feel more drowsy as I go down to make coffee. It's becoming my favourite part of the day. 

This morning while the coffee was brewing, I took this picture looking across the valley. That band of mist follows the path of the Lune as it passes between Kirkby Lonsdale and Casterton. 

****
-4.4kg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.