Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Chance meeting. In a sauna...

I was at the pool by 8.30, and had a twenty minute swim before the 9am aquafit class started. I found I had a spare 10 minutes, and I didn't want to get too cold, so I popped into the sauna. I have never popped in there before. Two students were already there, so we had a wee chat before we were joined by a Chinese man. I only mention that he was Chinese because guess what - he's an acupuncturist and he reckons he can fix my knees!

Anyway, we had a vigorous 45 minute session of jumping around with dumbells. There are about 25 in the group, and she spotted me and knew I was new! Perhaps because I kept floating off in the wrong direction or bumping into people. Lying on my back, with the floats, we were to kick to the deep end. I lay on my back, kicked vigorously, but did not move an inch while the others sailed by me. Weird.

I then went to the gym to do my circuit!

JR and Archie went out with Bailey and her mum to Bonaly. They had a long walk, the dogs had a great time, and JR came back with an iPhone full of photos. It's a job choosing which one to blip, so I've added a couple extras too - Archie dragging a stick, Archie looking over a wall. I like having a personal photographic assistant. Thanks JR.

I went down to Stockbridge to visit my Kiwi physiotherapist. I haven't really made any improvement at all in the last month or so, despite working at them all the time. I mentioned meeting the acupuncturist (in the sauna) and that I thought I would give it a go (despite my fear of needles) but she wasn't sure. In her 'needle' training, she was told not to use needles with knee replacements. Hmmm.

But I will visit him, because what are the chances of bumping into an acupuncturist in a sauna? It must be a sign...

A new dog borrower came round to meet Archie, she's from California, her parents are Vietnamese. She doesn't like the heat in California - prefers our weather. I like meeting all these lovely young folk doing interesting things. She'll come and take him out in a couple of weeks, after our holiday next week. Lucky boy.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.