2014 more running needed

By Brianporterrun

Just follow the music

It's Preston Guild week. The Guild has taken place every 20 years since 1179 with a break in 1942 because of the little local difficulty at that time.

I was due to be volunteering at some of the events this week but commonsense has prevailed following my meeting with the suregeon a couple of weeks ago.

So now it's a case of what to see as spectator so I can at least quote Max Boyce and say "I was there"

I followed Runhills recommendation and went to the food festival on Winckley Square. This band were playing in an upbeat Jazz style: they really got the crowd going and were clearly having fun.

Later in the week I will probably go to the torchlit procession next Saturday, and next Sunday there is an "All back to ours" celebration to mark the end of the Olympics, Paralympics, Cultural Olympiad and The Guild.

There was disappointment for Shelly Woods this morning as she finished 8th in the 5000m final. But she certainly gave it everything and I know her resolve will be strengthened for the remaining events, 800m, 1500m and marathon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.