A MIMent In Time

By justmim

On a sunny September Sunday

Such a lovely Sunday :] was exactly what was needed at the end of summer and in the run up to the start of fourth year!

Church in the morning was great on all levels - teaching, music and fellowship! Really engaging and thought (& action!) provoking sermon, some of my key songs and an opportunity to catch-up with some familiar faces :]

Although I've been able to go along a couple of times through the summer, today felt like coming back home, which was just lovely.

As it was a rather nice day I had a wander through Edinburgh and lunch in the gardens. Then it was off to my elder's house for afternoon tea with the fellowship group - this was an absolute joy! Despite having been a member for a year now other commitments had got in the way of me getting along to any FG stuff - although I have had some opportunity to get to know Barry & Maureen and one or two other members. But today we did a full round of introductions which was fascinating. Lifestories included talk of a Russian upbringing, London in the war and even some Gaelic!

The group has a broad age range, too - at 22 I'm the youngest...the eldest member of the group? 93! Although one couple is expecting a baby in November, so no doubt we'll have a teeny-tiny honorary member joining us then :]

The afternoon brought a smile to my face and reassurance to my heart - another unexpected step in being ready for the coming year :]

Decided not to go to church tonight on account of the Festival Fireworks being likely to make getting home difficult and less than fun alone. So instead it's a night with good books and a phone call home :]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.