Always inconstant...

By bikeyPete

Got it off pat!

The mists shyly clung to the low places as the Sun reached for the open sky. Out across the Fens where no hiding place could be found the mists made brave and covered every thing, emboldened and beautiful.

The trees along the road silhouetted against the pastel colours sky made a colonnade for my journey. Sleepy birds startled to flight sprang up from hidden perches and called their alarm. Asleep, resting, the land laying in the arms of early Autumn.

The river meadow dressed in diaphanous folds of misty hues languished in the quiet of a windless morn. In simple desire the cows munched through the grey mist, paying no attention to me as I drank in the most tranquil and pastoral scene. The delicate and intricate curtains of spiders webs hanging from every nettle and tall grass made crystal chandeliers for the grand hall of nature.

Down amongst the grass and nettles I startled a hedgehog into movement, his little legs hurrying for the smallest of time before the lack of threat from me had him curled up and hidden once more.

Danger....if danger was to be had, came from the large number of cows heading my way. As they herded around me, intrigued by my activity, one sprayed the ground with fresh new cowpat, bringing the pungent smell of farmland to the town. I had a a tender little stroke of the side of one of the cows and made my farewells to this lovely scene.

What a splendid start to the day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.