Detective work

I had a meeting in Accrington, this morning. I was delighted to notice recently that as an alternative to going down the M6 and along the M65, which is very boring, I can take a route down the A65 and A682, which takes only a few minutes longer but is pretty much ten miles shorter. More economical and more enjoyable!

On the way back, I stopped just outside a little town to eat some lunch. I pulled over on the far side of an old stone bridge and walked back to sit on it while I ate. On the middle of the bridge were two engraved stones but I couldn't work out what they said. I had just passed through Gisburn but there were too many letters in the first word for it to say that, and I didn't have a clue about the word on the second stone.

When I arrived back home I messed with the contrast and 'black point' on the photo hoping that might shed some light but it was when I looked at Wikipedia that the riddle of the first stone was solved: Gisburn was once spelt Gisburne. Furthermore, the entry mentions that Gisburn is near to Horton, and I think that's the second word (although, looking at a map, I'm not sure it's a direct route!

****
-4.2kg

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.