Life on the edge...

By bru22

Day 21 - France

Woke - Leatherhead Travelodge
Busked - Canterbury City Centre
Travelled - Euro tunnel
Arrived - Calais, France!

During our performance this afternoon in Canterbury a little girl came up to me and said "my name is Mia, I play the violin too" she was about grade 3 on her violin and loved our music, I said to keep up the practice and she could be in a rock band too one day! I felt inspired... And the smile on her face was priceless! :) She returned to her mum in the audience who also have me a huge smile. I think I made that little girls day bless her cotton socks.

This is a photo taken tonight in Calais France, 5 of us (Eva, Andy, Dec, Graeme and I) went down to the beach 1km (or so the receptionist said!!! Turned out to be a lot further along a 70kmh road most of which we ended up walking in a field!) we arrived having climbed a few hay bails en route at the beach... Watched a few P&O Ferries sail in and out, two french men fishing and wadded on the water with our shoes off. It was brilliant!

On our way back a huge crowd of French people were talking and in hysterics trying to get back up over the sand dune...! Declan joined in their conversation by saying "ahhhh oui" in a strangely Irish French accent... To which the French man he was communicating with continued his stories! Declan nodding an laughing... The French man loved it! - no one has any idea what they were talking about!

We are now all back at the hotel having walked back in the dark mist. A brilliant evening... :)

"Our memories of the ocean will linger on, long after our footprints in the sand are gone."
Anon

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.