One Night

SWMBO and I only went away for one night - but it was a most enjoyable trip.
We headed north in misty, wet weather and stopped off for coffee and cake between Perth and Dundee .... and I bought a necklace and matching earrings for SWMBO.

My parents were both from Aberdeen and with all the trips up there you would think I would have been to Dunnotter Castle at Stonehaven loads of times.
Wrong.
I have never been there.
I expected a longer walk to get there. My 12-24mm lens would have been just right. Unfortunately I had taken it out of the camera bag and left the 85mm in (not deliberately).
Never mind - I got some shots which I quite like ........ and I got some practice stitching pictures together.

The hotel we were staying at turned out to be a castle as well some of which (the bar) dates back to the original building from the 13th Centuary.
It is the first hotel that I have been in which not only has its history in the guest's information book in the room, but also the family tree which goes back to the first occupant - a Knight's Templar, Philip da Phendarg in 1236.
The stable block was built in 1628 and the staircase at the front was built about the same time.
The accommodation is a new addition to the building but only seen if you walk round the back of the building and the said accommodation is superb and the attention to detail is first class. The view from our room was pretty good too (even in infrared). Some of the water features had ducks and swans and a couple of the ponds on the drive up to the buildings had fountains - one of them had both. But they drew the line at the highland cows wandering across the golf course.

The food (all locally sourced) was superb and the whisky selection was excellent.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.