Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

The George, Southwark

Today I went to London for my 6 monthly check-up at Guys (very satisfactory) after which I stooged round Southwark and went to The George for a coffee.  Actually, in the end I had the coffee at The King's Head, a 16th century inn just round the corner, but I did blip inside the George and talked to some of the very nice people who work there.  This blip is of one of its sunny corners.

The George is one of Southwark's famous Medieval inns.  The most famous, the Tabard (where Chaucer's pilgrims in the Canterbury Tales set out from) was right next door to the George.  It's not there now, there's just a small piece of urban wilderness called Talbot's Yard.  Dickens drank in The George and it's mentioned in Little Dorrit.  Shakespeare is also often assumed to have drank here, and the yard - once overlooked on 3 sides by the galleried upper floors - was where early plays were put on.  In fact these inn yards ultimately gave purpose-built theatres their characteristic layout.

I've put another image in Extras taken at Waterloo on the way back.  I liked it because of the way the train almost disappears in the reflections :)

Choir tonight and I'm a bit disorganised, so commenting will certainly probably have to be finished in the morning.

Have a good evening  xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.