RetiredDBA

By RetiredDBA

A day of logistics

After an early morning shuttle run to Oxenholme to deposit Mr.B at the station I returned home to prepare for my days walk. A group, loosely associated to the U3A, are walking the Cumbria Way in sections as day walks and kindly invited me to join them. I drove to Staveley to meet two others that were leaving their cars there and the three of us then drove to Tarn Hows for the start. Five others drove to the Old Dungeon Ghyll, abandoned two cars there and transferred to Tarn Hows for the start of the walk in one car. 

We walked from Tarn Hows to the Old Dungeon Ghyll via Skelwith Bridge, Elterwater and the Great Langdale Valley. Although it bit cool it remained dry all day. We had an impromptu stop for drinks and home-made cakes at High Park which was lovely.

On reaching the ODG it would have been rude not to take advantage of the wares on offer - so we did. Three people were then loaded into one car for a trip back to Staveley so two could be reunited with their cars whilst the other five plus the two dogs hopped into another car for the return trip to Tarn Hows to recover another two cars. I hope you are following this - took me ages to get my head around the logistics for the day!

After all that the best I could manage was a blip of one of the Hosta in my garden. It had been dull and overcast so any photos of the Langdales would have been very bland and uninteresting. Not that a photo of a host is wildly interesting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.