Last Day

We started the day in a relaxed fashion as we both felt a little tired, up to the allotment for me and then I did some washing for Aunty and pottered in the garden. My aunt did her crossword puzzle book! We had a surprisingly delicious tomato and mozzarella salad with capers, black olives, basil and croutons - we were not sure about the raw red onion but running hot water over them and soaking in red wine vinegar and sugar did indeed take the harshness away as the recipe said! 
In the afternoon we went to Cotehele and the fun started in earnest! We oohed and aahed over the tulips in front of the house, and aunty decided next year she would plant the same! next stop the Art gallery - oh my! My mother always said we were alike and never to let us go shopping together! We see, we like, we buy!! We both saw jumpers we liked and bought each other pretty ring dishes as birthday presents! Hers had fish swimming around the inside, I had two birds! 
Next stop the pond and these ducks - I've never seen ducks on the pond before, they must like the new planting this year!  Last stop the NT shop - I found the sale corner and indulged once more! Also met The Gardener who has started back at work there - she is finding life without Friend difficult too and we agreed to meet for coffee next week.
We headed home via Callington and the Co-Op to get strawberries and clotted cream and bags of bite sized Twirls which we both love! Finally home to unwrap our purchases feeling delightfully wicked! Butternut squash and sage casserole for dinner and then the allotment as Aunty packed her suitcase which she had been putting off all evening! I gave her strict instructions to do it whilst I did the chickens or no chocolate!
It's been an absolute delight having her stay. She is such fun and always makes me laugh, and at 82 still sprightly! We both merrily insult each other and we can each talk the hind legs off a donkey! We never sat in front of the TV once together! She also has my mums eyes. She is already talking about coming again next year! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.