Lunch

Cousin and her friend returned from Totnes and we explored the village. Lunch in the Tea Room - orange and ginger trifle and a rhubarb sponge with lashings of cream in the middle! This reminded my aunt of how she had heard a whole family died after eating the stalks and leaves. For some reason this caused much laughter - I wanted to know if they had made a crumble or a Fool but she had no further details!
Next stop a view of the Viaduct and the houses with shared gardens and shop frontages from the past. Then the Ice Cream parlour! It had been closed last year when they came so it was a must, only we were all still full from lunch, so I bought them 7 scoops which were put in a polystyrene flower shaped container - the girl assured me it would stay frozen till they reached Bristol as that's where they were off next! But not before visiting the chickens of course! The friend was so scared of being pecked at one point she had her hand level with the girls bottoms as I fed the right head end! Finally the Churchyard  which was covered in Primroses and bluebells and the gravestone to two brothers who went down with the Titantic. 
Just time to collect their bags and then to the station we went to wave them off - I felt quite tearful - but my aunt is with me till saturday so home to cook dinner! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.