Jack!

Dean has come to visit and my plan was that we would, along with Dan and Abi, pop down into Kirkby Lonsdale for a curry. There were, it transpired, two hiccups in the plan. 

Firstly, Abi has decided that she has gone off eating out, so we made the relatively straightforward compromise of getting a takeaway.

The second was that on my way home in the car, I heard my MP, Tim Farron, being interviewed by Eddie Mair on PM. Now, I like Mair but he can be a bit of a prick at times and this evening was one of those occasions. When I got home, I sent a quick message to Tim saying I thought he'd done well dealing with it only to find myself getting a call straight back asking if I could help out with the local council campaign that evening.

Thus, I found myself in the Market Square just after 6pm, taking a large batch of leaflets and offering to do all of the town north of the churchyard. To be honest, I was relieved it wasn't door knocking. It's not been a problem for me in the past but, post-Brexit, I've gone right off the idea. 

In the end, my pile of leaflets ran out before I could cover the whole area, so I phoned in to tell the candidate which roads I'd done and then rendezvous'd with Dan and Dean at the curry house. 

As it always is, the food was excellent and we spent the rest of the evening sitting 'round chatting, Dean and I enjoying a few sips from the bottle of Jack Daniel's that he brought with him.

****
-3.7kg (Lord, I hope this is a rogue weigh-in)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.