Bits Bobs and Bats

By vix

Goodbye Norma, my much loved sister-in-crime.

My sister-in -law Norma, suddenly died this week following a particularly aggressive form of cancer, in her face. She leaves behind Andy's brother and two amazing children who are close cousins to the girls.
We Watson's are all deeply saddened and of course for the immediate family, totally devastated. It's a tragedy of the highest order, things will never be the same again.
The last few days have been hard, I keep hearing her voice in my head and seeing her smiling face. It has also got me thinking about the special relationship sister (or brother)-in-laws have, or can have, particularly those that have married into a family.
Us 'outsider in-laws' have much common ground as we try to get to know a new family with all their different ways, intrafamilial history and ancient folk lore.  There is a sense of comradery within our 'in-law' ranks as we negotiate this unfamiliar and often confusing terrain together.
I was lucky that Norma and I, although from very different background's, immediately bonded. She was glamorous and stylish, an excellent home maker, mother and cook. I am almost the antithesis of those things being mostly shambolic and foul mouthed and a mother that relished returning to work as the thought of being a stay home mum (not only being financially non viable) was mostly abhorrent to me. But Norma and I clicked, it was easy.
From the very beginning Norma employed her skills to help me, such as introducing me to foundation before my wedding  (subtly but with purpose) and was there whilst I hungoverly tried on dresses, always unwavering in her support and infectiously excited about our big day.
We didn't speak often but for important things, like getting up the duff or events happening within the family we privately messaged and kept in touch. I really looked forward to seeing her on family occasions especially when visiting the 'other Watson's' as I knew knew we would catch up with a good chinwag and glass or two (!) of wine,  at times staying up long after the husband's had gone to bed.
Norma was part of the fabric of life as a Watson, someone else who had changed their name to join this tribe, a stranger who due to a twist of fate became family.
I already miss my sister-in-crime, my comrade and friend, bonded in 'otherness' and law. The shape of my 'Watson' will never look the same again.
RIP special lady, much love :(

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.