Foodie Thoughts

As I am back blipping  I had already done  this Flag Iris is in B&W not yellow - symbolic of passion and courage it seems apt for another terror attack in London.

So Friday was it's usual hen sandwich - as in I started and ended the day on the allotment with Waitrose in between! As it's nearly  summer Waitrose has put out its summer fare. It seems the new food word is "crush" as I bought both a beetroot and butternut crush! Both delicious with feta and pumpkin seeds adorning the former and charred cauliflower and cranberry the latter! Bizarrely the avocado I bought was called a mash! So when is something a crush or a mash I ask myself? On trying to find out I found smash too! Which made me think of the old advert for rehydrated potato! i did not find an answer to my question, and since the avocado was mashed with coriander it can't be that a crush has something added! Maybe it's that hard veg are crushed and soft ones mashed?!!
I also discovered that the fennel I bought, also chargrilled which seems to be another "in" word - was with Yuzu - so then I had to look that up! With 3 times more vitamin C than a lemon it's the latest superfood! 
I had my usual dilemma buying fruit - going for what is in season and hasn't been flown half way round the world and tasteless. I then wondered if my beetroot and carrot crush were made from british sources! Oh the fun of a food shop!
Pleased to say the day of rest saw my hand recovered so more digging on the allotment - actually it's not digging but forking! Too many stones, a network of grass roots and the dastardly raspberry canes means only a fork can get through it all! One more day and the bed should be ready for my squash before the rain comes - I'd cross my fingers but don't want to make my hand flare up again! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.