Through Jo's Lens

By Jo8lens

Haigh Windmill

The windmill was built circa 1840 to pump water from the ponds in the adjacent fields up the hill to the then Haigh Brewery. It is a Grade II listed building and was restored in 2011. It hasn't been in use for over a hundred years.

Until today, I didn't even know it existed! I just spotted it when I'd gone to Haigh Hall to take Hovis for a walk. When I went across the field to take this photo, Hovis flung himself into a huge heap of cow dung....he was covered in it. Luckily he went for a swim in the pond later but the dung didn't all come out. Daft dog. Then I lost his collar...stupid me! Lewis was off school today after having his eye punched yesterday! The best thing about today is that I had my hair done by my friend (and mobile hairdresser, Alison) so I was able to be pampered for an hour or so at least. We had a good natter about the paranormal of all things....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.