Munroist4113

By Munroist4113

Millau Viaduct and Rougiers

We had heavy downpours during the night and as the forecast was for the same today we decided against our walk. Instead we had a long drive firstly to the aire near the Millau Viaduct designed by Norman Foster at that time the longest and highest in the world.

We did a circuitous route around Rougiers. As the name suggests the earth is oxidised so I had fun photographing. We continued on to see pretty little towns and Sylvanes Abbey - the little D road was very narrow and went steeply up through woods till we reached a slightly more major road. Next stop was Roquefort sur Sulzon where I had hoped to make a visit to the cheese caves but after waiting till the heavy rain abated in the van, which was parked some way from the village (it is hard to find anywhere to park a bigger vehicle) we were too late.

We were lucky to get some blue skies between downpours for the photos today. Fingers crossed for no soakings tomorrow on the climb. At least it won't be too hot!

Unfortunately I keep forgetting I can only post to blip via my phone on data roaming as we have no wifi so I don't have my best photos to share.

Sent from my iPhone

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.