D'aicí enfòra

By chaiselongue

Vines

I was quite pleased to catch this landscape shot this morning, just north of the village near the rock de Caylar, whose botany is said to be unchanged since Roman times. In the centre there's one of the features of vine-growing from past centuries, a mazet or shelter for tools, lunches and siestas in the days before vans and cars when people spent the whole day out in the vines. In the vineyard on the left the harvesting of the grapes is being done by hand, although these days with a tractor and trailer to take the fruit back to the cave. And on the right a grape-picking machine and its driver were just finishing their more modern, mechanised work.

I'm off to a different landscape, one with more orange trees and rice than vines. I'll blip when I can, backblip later when I can't. I probably won't have time to comment much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.