LuvU2

By LuvU2

Seed fromTrichilia dregeana Forest Natal Mahogany

I find one of these seeds on the golf course every time we go there, but I could not find the tree from which it comes, there are so many lovely trees on the course!

Today C was fortunate to find it in the original seed pod. It is só beautiful, I simply had to blip it, but failed to identify the tree, but my dear Z (MissU2) identified it for me!

I love the texture of the skin of the seed pod, and the fawn/green colour, but the seeds are the real fascinating part for me! They fit into the pod in pairs, flat sides together, plain red, and the bottom half of the rounded sides are black, the top sides the same deep red as the flat side. There are six seeds in the seed pod, each one attached to the seed pod by an 'umbilical chord'.

The whole seed pod is about the size of a Ferrero Rocher chocolate. Ha-ha-ha

Enjoy the rest of your weekend!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.