Up On The Roof!

Up to do the chickens and on the way I dropped AH14 at the church in the hope of misty, atmospheric photos. Hmm - more of a muzzle than a mist! But undettered I then picked her up and we headed for the quay. Well she just went click happy on the viaduct and I had fun with a duck and bunting! We had planned to go to Bedruthan Steps, but the weather was not so good and I must admit I didn't have the energy - AH14 has broken me!!!
So another day in Calstock! Most of it spent at home in the kitchen faffing with photos and chatting! Then we headed to Cotehele as we realised we were in danger of missing the entry deadline! As we were leaving, having taken the windows as usual, we bumped into a friend who works in the house, we had a good chat and she told us to open the door to the kitchen courtyard as it was only closed due to fear of people slipping, but now it was dry we could go in. We were in the kitchen when she found us again and asked if we'd like to go up onto the roof! I am not ashamed to say I squealed at the mere thought of it and she had to shush me so the last few visitors didn't hear and decide to join us! She unlocked the door and up the narrow, spiralling staircase we went. On reaching the roof I could have cried in sheer wonder and delight. What a view! We both took photos like fiends and I made AH14 take ones of me with Calstock behind me! When the Cotehele Friend appeared I hugged her in thanks - much to her surprise, I'm not sure she is a hugy person but I am! 
We wandered round the garden afterwards and I didn't take a single photo! I did taunt AH14 with the fact I could revisit next week and take as many as I liked! 
Once home we were about to decide what to eat when I suggested a meal at the Masterchef winners restaurant - well she didn't need asking twice! It was delicious of course - Prawns in marmite with a fresh baked warm roll - very delicate would you believe, the marmite a gentle flavour not a sledgehammer of taste! We both then had the Seafood Wreck - 7 different types of fish with caper mash and greens. We were both so full neither of us had a pudding! Unheard of! 
So home and another few hours of chat and photo looking! I think we had a very perfect last full day together! 
Up on The Roof - been singing this ever since! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.