Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Birthday!

Another birthday, and I was spoilt all day with surprises and presents. Starting with breakfast in bed - pancakes, fresh fruit and honey. In fact, the spoiling started last night, when Elizabeth brought Archie back along with this huge bunch of beautiful flowers, and a rather lovely bottle of Edinburgh 'Seaside Gin'.

We then went into town (two peaceful bus journeys, extra) with Rufus and his mum, to try out a new dog friendly restaurant. And very nice it was too.

Christine took the dogs for a walk when we came home, then came to sample the new Seaside Gin. Bailey and her mum arrived and we had a jolly evening, a lovely meal, and more gin and wine than was strictly necessary. The visitors politely watched my Norway video and endless photos on the TV. I got more presents, including chocolates, prosecco candles, fresh peas, cherries and - yes! A waffle maker!

An eclectic eccentric musical evening ensued - I still have children's songs on my playlist (from my teaching days, not my childhood days!) so we had 'Nellie the Elephant' and 'Donald Where's Your Troosers?' popping up between 60s songs.

That's another year gone. But what a fun day it was.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.