Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

An eventful day. And not in a good way...

JR set off across town (a bus journey that takes forever at least an hour) to Leith to hand in all the documentation for her South Africa visa application. She had piles of printouts, some in duplicate.

But she should have made an appointment, not just turn up, but as it's not dealt with then and there, but takes weeks, she assumed she would just hand it in and the receptionist would merely made sure it was all in order. They made her wait when she complained that it had taken her an hour to get there.

But was it all in order? No. She did not have an actual printout of the actual hotel booking, although she gave the address. She did not have a bank statement printout right up till this week. She texted me that she felt like cancelling the trip! If only we'd known what a faff it was. We will NOT be going to SA again.

Meanwhile, I did not have much success either. In fact, my day was even more traumatic. I decided to take Archie across the Meadows, with a coffee for me at the other end. I didn't take my stick, planning to take the bus one way.

I got on the bus, and the driver told me to go upstairs, as there was already a dog on board. I explained that I couldn't do stairs, if it wasn't all right, I'd get off. But on board was the nasty Jack Russell who has attacked Archie once before (and now we give each other wide berths if we meet while out walking). I hadn't realised it was him, but why would that make any difference?

We walked past the growling dog and sat several seats behind. So far so good. As I was chatting with the woman seated next to me, Archie at my feet, the other dog got loose, scrabbled under the seats, and lunged at Archie, grabbing his face in its jaws!!

I was whacking it, but the owner must have moved quite quickly and dragged it back, Archie giving wee yelps. He has a bit of fur missing on his nose (you can just see it in this photo). I was shouting to the bus driver that it wasn't my dog who was behaving badly. I got off.

Actually, once he was frolicking in the Meadows, chasing sticks, he seemed to have forgotten the incident. Although he won't forget that horrible dog. Neither will I. I may will shout at the owner next time I see him. I walked both ways, sparing Archie a bus trip home, so I was very tired and sore. Just as well there was a Magnum in the freezer.

He has a surprise visit from Elizabeth this evening, so that'll make him very happy.

PS Happy Birthday A!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.