Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lazy day

What a lazy day! A drizzle-induced sofa day. I'm always ready to spend the day on the sofa, with a wee dog on my knee, snacking and watching something on TV, but I prefer it not to be forced.

We're watching a Norwegian series on Walter Presents, but I could have been watching the Women's Cricket final, which was pretty exciting.

I managed to rouse myself from the sofa long enough to give Archie a bit of a haircut. It's great doing it at home, because then he never has that 'newly shorn' look (just that 'home haircut' look...)

Our American friends were due home this evening from Spain, via three different flights. But the best laid plans... the first very early flight was cancelled/delayed, and so all other connections were affected. They've had a fraught day queueing, re-booking, waiting and fuming. They hope to arrive here late tonight. The stuff of nightmares!

The rain stopped and so Archie and I popped out for a wander. We met a cat who arched its back but did not run away. I wish I'd been quick enough with my camera as they stared at each other, a couple of feet apart, for many long seconds. Then, at the same time, the cat legged it and Archie barked his head off. He had a run with another dog on the Meadows, after he obligingly sat in amongst the wildflower patch. We only trampled a few...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.