Rutter Force

I decided I'd pop out to a local sight I've not been to before, Rutter Force. On paper it seemed lovely, a significant fall on a fast flowing Beck. Sure the mill next to it is now holiday accommodation, but the added attraction of a bouncy footbridge and a ford for the car made it seem worthwhile.
Historically it's fascinating; there's been a mill recorded here since at least 1579, and the Force provided the only intermittent source of electricity to nearby Great Asby until 1952.

Whilst the view from the bridge was indeed impressive the extensive fence and signage from the holiday accommodation was not. I struggle with natural beauty being made restricted access, especially when it's something as fundamental as a water course. I suspect there was once a path, but it's certainly lost to time now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.