Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Arun says...

I don't know where the day went - I have done practically nothing. No, I lie - I note that I've registered 173 steps, but of course that's way off, because I wasn't carrying my phone every time I went to the fridge all the time.

JR and Archie, on the other hand, more than made up for my sloth. Annemique picked Archie up about 10.30 and they had a big walk including Blackford Hill.

JR bussed across town for her third visit to the South African Embassy. She left really early so as not to be late for her 9am appointment. Fingers crossed that she had assembled all the necessary paperwork...

Nope.

What follows is a rant about the SA Embassy, so please feel free to skip it - I just had to get it off my chest.

Lots of petty little things were not quite right but fix-able. But the printout of her bank statement had to be TODAY'S. And it had to be stamped and signed on the back by her bank!!! This was never mentioned before. How to get this done and get to the embassy for a morning appointment (they don't do afternoons) could be a slight problem.

One back home, and calmed down, JR tried to make a new appointment online, she had to pay another £40. The 'helpline' email just gives an automated reply. In desperation she rang an 'emergency' number and spoke to a chap called Arun, who said to email the helpline again this time adding 'Arun says that you should give me a manual appointment'.

This seemed rather unlikely.

It did not work.

Another automated reply with 'We will get back to you within 48 hours...'

JR gave up and went to the supermarket, but I rang again, and a woman immediately made a 'manual' appointment. Just like that. And it's not at the crack of dawn, so she'll be able to nip into a bank before she goes. Phew! I cannot believe how problematic this process has been! If only we'd known...

Oh, and as JR left the embassy, she was told that British Citizens (ie ME) need a visa too!!! This is patently NOT TRUE. This holiday better be worth all this hassle!

Archie had his almost-daily beard and leg shampoo. He is so cute when he realises it's inevitable - he puts on his best forlorn look. Doesn't work, though.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.