Dales Way Day 2

We had a lazy start, as it was raining when we were making the most of the big breakfast provided by the White Horse Hotel, before heading back to Barden Bridge in Margaret's car, to start today's section where we finished yesterday.

Unfortunately my foot was too sore for my walking shoes, and as it had been wet, my trainers would soak through. Ailie kindly loaned me her walking sandals which she uses as driving shoes, so I hobbled along happily on them.

Luckily the rain had stopped and we had another glorious day for walking. We followed the Wharfe upstream, through fields and woods, till we reached Burnsall. It is a picture-postcard village, with a 15th century church and a school founded on 1602. Chris and I realised we'd stopped at the pub there many years ago, (we can't remember anything about the walk, except I'm sure it was above Appletreewick) when we were told we couldn't go in wearing walking boots. Now there is spa sign saying walkers welcome, so we stopped for a beer while Ailie and Margaret elected to go over the road for cake and coffee.

The walk from there to Grassington was particularly lovely. We passed Loup Scar, blipped, and then crossed the river by a suspension footbridge which replaced some stepping stones, then on to Linton Falls , where the river foams and tumbles over limestone boulders and ledges. From there it was a grassy stroll up to Grassington to collect the car.

We dropped Margaret off at her car, and Ailie drove the 3 hours back home. We got back about 7 pm. It was a great two days, except for the osteoarthritis which gave me a lot of pain, despite the maximum doses of paracetamol and Ibuprofen.

I just looked at my blip for a year ago and it is a self portrait by friend M who died suddenly a couple of months ago. And there I was, complaining about a sore foot. Pathetic.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.