V & A

Today's the day . . . . . . . . . .  to amuse myself

Will was at a meeting today so the day was mine to do whatever I pleased - and of course, being in London, the choice was huge.

Being within walking distance of several of the big museums was too tempting an opportunity to miss, so I set off for them.  I didn't actually visit the V & A as shown above because I was waylaid by the Science Museum.  I haven't been in there for a while and there was plenty to interest me.  The highlight would have to be helping Tim Peake to land his space module in the middle of the desert.  I thought it was incredibly brave of me actually - given my fear of heights - because that virtual reality is pretty convincing when you have head goggles on.  I don't think he could have done it without me.

After that, it was off to Christie's for the Auction of personal items from the collection of Audrey Hepburn.  Again it was a fascinating experience to listen to the auctioneer handling the bids that were coming in from collectors round the globe by telephone and on the internet - not to mention all the people actually in the room.  The extra shows one bidder who was taking things very seriously.

The day finished off with a performance by the wonderful Stacey Kent at Ronnie Scott's Jazz Club.  Needless to say Will was there too by this point in the day!  It was the perfect venue for her - and she brought a pretty near perfect day to a very satisfactory close ........................

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.