Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Lunch date

Before my lunch date, I had time to sit out in the front garden in the sun, with a silent Archie on my knee, coffee to hand, and the half hour bike-based torture completed. It is one of (a retired) life's small pleasures.

While I popped out to Dobbie's Garden Centre to meet up with my brother and sis-in-law, JR and Archie walked up the hill and back. A second workout for her!

Haven’t seen my bro and s-i-l for ages, we really should meet up more often. We usually compare ailments and aches, but this time, we were all (relatively) healthy! Long may it continue.

And the excellent news is that my clever brother, who has been writing a book about the whaling industry in Shetland for many years, has just signed a publishing deal. Wowee!! He's now spending any sleepless nights planning the next book, possibly a crime thriller.

Had a wee swirl round Dobbies, and picked up some flowers that JR needed for her wee white front garden. Amazingly enough, though I have gone there many many times, I took the wrong road out of town and had to whizz back along the by-pass. Duh!

I'm just watching how they made 'Earthflight' which is a bird's eye view of the world. They hand reared ducks, geese, cranes and many other species so that they could film them flying. It's fascinating, and the footage they got is amazing.

What a beautiful day again. I love this autumn weather.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.