From the dark corner.....

By Rozwood1970

I want muscles!

Actually, I don't really.

When I was little, I remember telling Dad I wanted to be a typewriter. He corrected me telling me I wanted to be a typist and explained that a typewriter was the thing you use, not the person that does it. I was probably about six then, but these things stick in your mind. Back then I used to worry about fire engines when I heard them in the distance. Dad asked me why and I had to ask him if I was right in believing that fire engines would set houses on fire and then put them out. I remember him laughing. Maybe I was thinking firemen didn't have enough to do!

By the time I was ten I wanted to be a cinema usherette as you got to see all the films for free, ate choc ices and had a big torch! I have lots of torches now and even have one on my keyring which I used to illuminate my pint pictures with before my camera phone had a flash.

Before I became a council worker in IT, I wanted to be a hotel manageress, something in hospitality anyway but Mom pointed out that I would have to spend time in all departments, even chambermaiding and working in the kitchens. I'm not sure I'd have survived the heat! How things change!

Did I ever want to be a bar maid? Not for long. I much prefer being a customer and the kind of beer I like, you need muscles for the hand pull pumps!

The track is barely connected as I don't think The Garrick in Stratford on Avon ever served Moonshine, not even in William Shakespeare's day.
I've used this before but love it. The first place I ever heard it was in Mr Bill's Beer Keller in Needless Alley in Brum. P.S. The video is good with this.

Steve Earle - Copperhead Road

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.