Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Walkies!

I put my bike resistance up to Level 20 this morning, I’ve had it at Level 18 all the time. (JR has hers at Level 1, though she goes for speed). It was tough going, but I think it's paying off - more of the pay-off later.

Nancie, a new walker who met Archie ages ago, but hasn’t come back (she got very busy at uni) was coming to take him out this afternoon, but texted to cancel because of an accident with a sofa (don’t ask).

Anyway, this proved to be a good thing, because then Archie's walk was down to us. It was a lovely day, so we took the bus to the Hermitage of Braid - I haven’t been there for absolutely ages, what with these knees... but it was so lovely walking through the woods. Archie comes here quite a lot with his walkers, and he loves it, scampering around, popping into the river for a paddle and meeting lots of dogs.

I had intended walking part of the way, then walking back to the bus, letting JR and Archie do the whole round trip, but I decided to keep going. It was the same effort as pushing on with Level 20 on the bike and not giving up.

We walked round by the duck pond, and then back up the hill. I always used to get the bus home from there, till they re-routed that bus, and I had to walk home, exhausted.

I walked 7,647 steps! Quite an improvement on yesterday’s 19.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.