Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Toe bother

Last night I dreamt that someone was holding a blow torch at my toe. I woke up, and they were still doing it, but there was nobody there. It was SO painful. And it was the left foot, the one that usually causes me so much pain is on the right foot! Though a couple of painkillers worked. Very weird - I may need to ask the doctor about it.

Archie and I were sitting in the sun, after my bike torture, when a couple of neighbours he knows came by. He rushed and shoved his head through the gate, wagging his tail, but didn’t bark. Good boy! While we were out on the pavement, Elizabeth was spied in the distance, so he hurtled off at top speed to meet her, just about knocked her over, and covered her in kisses.

We took Elizabeth to lunch at the place we'd been last week (when I chose the wrong dish), but this time it was very good. You can’t go wrong with avocado on toasted sourdough with two soft poached eggs plopped on top. I had booked for three people and a dog, and they had a bowl of water ready for Archie. We had Bellinis.

Then Elizabeth took Archie off round his favourite walk - the Hermitage and Blackford Hill, lucky boy. JR went into town, and I toddled home, toe (on the other foot) aching, and had to recline on the sofa for the rest of the day.

Mind you, that's what I would have done even if all my toes had been tickety-boo.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.