Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Brocante Market

Today was the Brocante Market in the square. We were quite excited about this, but it turned out to be quite disappointing - not the antiques and bric-a-brac we had anticipated, but just, well, junk - large stainless steel 'sculptures' to put in your garden, paintings that looked rather, er, lacking in talent, and many more deeply uninteresting items. Not sure if they sold much.

I had a wander round the wee streets, and came across a photo shoot of the young ladies. I was very taken with the pointy stance of the lady in black and white, so I’ve cut off the boring photographer, who had a big woolly pink cardigan on.

As I was popping to Sue's flat for lunch, I spotted someone sitting outside my favourite wee house down the road, so I ambled on down. I walked past, trying to take a sneaky photo, then walked back and just asked her. She was friendly and obliging, and I sat and had a chat with her. She's an artist, her name's Marie, and lives in that wee (very wee) house, she came from Paris many years ago. She was going off to another village in the afternoon for a 'Fête des Confitures' (et autres mixtures). Only in France!

As luck would have it, when we all had a wee wander down the street later on our way to the square for a vino, she was home, and her window was open. I called in to her, and she invited us in. And it was TINY. She lives there with her grandson, who's a toddler. I don’t know how they both fit in there.

Anyway, she got out her artwork, and we all loved it. Sue bought one of her delightful flower prints, and Marie signed it for her. We'll go back next week to buy one (at least).

We sat in the square, watching the merchants packing up their wares. A long day for them. Then we came back to Sue's flat to use up the food she had left. Much better than any of the expensive 'plat du jours' on offer (tripe, anyone? Yes, Bob!).

Sue leaves tomorrow morning, but it's been great to catch up and to have the use of her posh abode.

PS I added in an EXTRA photo yesterday of the BVM (not) with the bleeding heart that the girls saw the other night...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.