Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

I can see clearly now...

It was very busy in the gym this morning - all the local old codgers keeping their creaking limbs moving. Actually, I lie, there were plenty of young 'uns too.

Anne came to take Archie out, and tell us her exciting news. After they went off, Kevin, our window cleaner came. I've been looking forward to his return, because he was going to attempt to clean the inside of the secondary glazing, which has never been cleaned in three years! Mainly because I screwed in my (not so great) idea of anti-burglar screws, so the real window couldn’t go up more than a few inches. It's been very very annoying all this time - it always looked like it was a foggy day, even if the outside windows had just been cleaned.

Kevin tried all his tricks, but inside the top secondary glazing was just impossible to reach - definitely a design fault. But the main part of the windows now look beautiful! Or, really, just like normal, sparkling clean windows.

Yesterday Elizabeth brought us a plank of wood that builders had left at her flat. I sawed and chopped, and now it's a goodly pile of kindling. Archie admired my handiwork when he came home, though he was unhappy to have to pose on the wobbly tree stump.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.