Overabundance

We left the peace and tranquility of Gozo to join the traffic queues and then the hustle and bustle of Valletta. The streets are bursting with tourists, many disgorged in their hundreds if not thousands from the massive cruise liners docked in the harbour.

They stroll along wearing their lanyards - the modern day equivalent of Paddington Bear’s luggage label - with their ears plugged in to their guide leader’s Bluetooth commentary. I’m sure it is an interesting experience for them and we in our own right were doing our own touristy thing. But in the evening when they had gone the ancient city seemed much more calm and enjoyable.

In addition to the overabundance of tourists there was an overabundance of blip opportunities. The Grand Harbour in the afternoon light was stunning. But there was also Pinocchio - see extra no 1. I’ve no idea whether this was medical or eccentricity. But I doubt I’ll see it again.

Nor will I witness the over abundance of luxury we saw when we went to look at the Signal Battery for the ceremonial firing of a gun. Nothing happened today as the area was closed off for the preparation of a wedding, something on a scale I’ve not witnessed before. We could only glean that it was an “Indian” wedding. Fresh petals and orchids strewn carefully under the watchful eye of a wedding designer. Ranks of chefs preparing luxury meals for the guests. Candles in lanterns and floral decorations by the hundreds.

After our dinner on a street cafe -and the sound of a firework display, I wandered back to the area. I passed what I think was the Maltese Prime Minister giving a televised speech in the main square and was surprised that I could still access the food area overlooking the wedding celebrations. The stage was buzzing and the guests were dancing, a few hundred metres away from the PM giving his speech The backdrop of the harbour was amazing but of all the photos of this event I liked the one of two of the chefs who had slipped away to view the proceedings.

For the blip I have chosen a view of Trig San Pawl - St Paul Street where we are staying. Our enclosed balcony is in the middle of the photo. These balconies have been a typical sight on Malta and Gozo but the scale and colour of them in this photo sums up today for me - over abundance.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.