AlrightFlower

By AlrightFlower

Music goes round and round

I wouldn't describe myself as a huge music fan - I mean, I'd be hard pressed to tell you in which decade most songs were released, never mind what year and what the chart position was, as someone I used to know could (heh, I think it used to really annoy him that I didn't care).

On the way into work I'm accompanied usually by Chris Evans and the Breakfast Show team - a great mix of laughs and good music. This week it's been Ryan Tubridy and, whilst I don't like the show as much as usual, it has had me chortling on a few occasions. And today's playlist included Talking Heads, Boz Scaggs and Moloko, just in the 40 minutes I was in the car, and you can't complain about that.

The drive home is a different story, however. I'll apologise in advance if you're offended, but I cannot abide either Steve Wright or Simon Mayo (and I would tend to be unfortunate enough to catch a bit of both if I switched on the radio).

No music tonight - I had a sore head (dropped my phone next to the car at work and, when I stood up, I banged my head on the open car door - there's a huge lump, honest).

But, in response to dogwithnobrain's question from yesterday's blip, I drove home last night belting out:
- Kirsty MacColl: A New England (can't believe she's been gone for 12 years)
- Rihanna: Disturbia (not my usual brand of vodka, but I like a change)
- Jamie Cullum: I'm All Over It & It Ain't Necessarily So (I luuuuuurve Jamie!)
- Bon Jovi - I'll Sleep When I'm Dead (can't beat a bit of 80s (I think??))
- Fun Boy Three & Bananarama - It Ain't What You Do (again...)

And finally my favourite: Paolo Nutini - Pencil Full of Lead. I know all the words (although I tend to get the order mixed up) and it never ever fails to make me smile. Along with the extended version of Filthy/Gorgeous by the Scissor Sisters ("Ms. Ana, Thank you for the beautiful work that you be doin' for our people, Because everytime when you get out of your Corvette Stingray in your white pumps and your pink acid-wash jeans with the matching pink rabbit fur coat, We say,"Miss thang, you got it goin' on, You is gorgeous!!")

Hehe.

x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.