Sunday evening

Sunday evening. Time to iron all the school uniforms ready to go back for the start of an 8 1/2 week term!! Arghh!

Collected Nell from the kennels first thing. She seems content and well fed and so excited to be home!!

Then I went to the yard with plans to take Lime for a short ride before transferring him and Buddy to their winter grazing. Unfortunately Lime heard his girlfriend whinnying over the road and went absolutely nuts spinning and prancing and dancing about on the end of his lead rope so clearly the ride wasn't going to happen.

So he dragged me over the road, could barely wait for me to open the gate. I ended up having to just let him go as to get to his pen, I had to walk through another pen with another horse in who's having treatment for sarcoids. I couldn't get past him. Lime was going nuts, the mares were galloping about, Winston started galloping about the wind was howling. It was bloody horrible.

I was really annoyed that things have not been set up to make it safe to get him in and out of the field. Also that every year we have to put up with having this retired mare (injured so retired young) in our field winding all the boys up. The owner bought a new horse, moved to another yard and just puts the retired mare on livery all the time, maybe coming down once a week. It never leaves the field yet everything is set up around her, never mind the difficulties it causes all the other owners having a stroppy mare in there. I've learnt over the years that there is no point in complaining to the yard owner. He won't do anything.

I called Winston's mum as he shouldn't be charging about with his treatment and she came down and ended up getting the vet out as he'd swollen up and got a nose bleed poor boy.

Once Lime was in his pen he started bombing up and down the fence so really worried he's going to go lame again. So I had to go and get a load of electric fencing so he hasn't got so much room to charge about. I was there for most of the day. Thoroughly pissed off.

Buddy walked in and put his head down to eat and didn't look up the whole time I was doing the fence!! Totally unfazed by being in his new field with new friends and not in the least interested in the mares! They were all quiet when I left so just hope it stays that way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.