The Billabong

We had a very satisfying day today. Over the past three days we have been giving the Billabong a makeover. It involved removing all of the stones and draining both the upper and lower tanks. Quite a performance really but well worth the effort. We will need to wear our sunglasses it looks so good.

If you look closely at the little fish plate in the pond you will see the words "Bryher" Isles of Scilly. I worked it out today that I have had the plate since 1977. I played squash professionally in the UK in the late 70's and one of the English squash players invited me to join her family for a weekend at their holiday cottage on Bryher, one of the Isles of Scilly. It was a fantastic experience and this little plate has been with me ever since.
I do remember a very exciting helicopter ride from Penzance to the Isles. The plate brings back a lot of happy memories.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.