Musings of a Mortal

By KennyRiley

Spider in the woods

Had a great day up at the Hermitage at Dunkeld - The weather was fab and the colours of the trees were awesome.

It was another outdoor church (for those not familiar see Outdoor Church ) - the theme today was "How as Christians can we be identified? ........by our fruit"

We set out first to identify different types of trees using their bark, leaves, branches and any fruit they may produce - after that we discussed what made Christians different from others - was it the way they dressed, things they said or did or did not...or was it something different.....

We went onto look at letter that Paul wrote to the church in Galatia and in that letter he set out clearly that it was by the "Fruit" that was produced by God working in their lives that would be one of the identifying marks.......the fruit being

"Love Joy Peace Patience Kindness Goodness Faithfulness Gentleness and Self Control"

Made me stop and think is any of the above evident in my life.....I would hope so but I will let those who know me ....... comment ..........and Christianity aside I reckon the world would be a better place if we all showed a little more of the above.

Difficult to choose a picture for today and was going to pick one of the many trees that we saw but what caught my eye in the sunlight was this beautiful spiders web....the "fruit" of the spiders labour.

Hope you had a good day and I did hear that Colin Prior was up at the Hermitage at the same time as us with a photographic group - if you were in that group....or even Colin himself, link me to any pictures that you took today - I would love to see them!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.