Post-run

About fifteen years ago, when I was working in Edinburgh, I had a flat near Arthur's Seat. I'd walk home from work, put some vegetables on to roast (I was still vegetarian back then), and go out for a run. Then I'd come home, shower, eat, and walk into Edinburgh for a drink or go to the cinema (or both). 

I still remember one particular evening when I was so tired when I got in that I had a nap. When I woke up, I realised I just had time to run and still get to the cinema, and forced myself out of the door, still drowsy and thinking "Well, a bad run is better than no run at all". And then I did one of the fastest times I ever did around Arthur's Seat.

And that's the weird thing with running and swimming (and, presumably, other sports); you can't always predict how well a session will go. On Thursday I went out for a run - and totally misjudged when it would get dark - which was pretty good and then I went for a swim last night, which was also fine, and this morning I went for a long run out to Higher Wheelton, back along the canal as far as Frederick's, and then through town to the Minx's. 

My time wasn't brilliant but, my God, the affect it had on my metabolism! For the last three months, I've run a half-marathon pretty much every weekend, to the point now where sometimes I can carry on with my day afterwards without even a post-run nap. Today, though... For a start, once I'd showered, I found I was absolutely ravenous, so I walked into Chorley and had a fantastic meal at the Bees Country Kitchen. I had chicken liver paté and bread (pictured) to start and then a combination of three amazing stews with rice. 

Then I went back to the Minx's and, as she was in bed, resting her foot, I lay down for a nap, which turned into a proper two hour sleep. Even when I woke, I still felt drowsy and very pleasantly achey. God, that run was worth every step.

****
-14.8 kgs
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.