Common Enchantments

By MaryElizaR

Some kind of woodpecker!

Imagine my surprise when I looked out the window and this woodpecker was sitting at the birdbath on the back porch.   I hate that I have to take photos through the window because I can't get it sharp.  I  looked this up because I thought it might be a yellow bellied sapsucker.   Blip birders let me know for sure!    

After I got this photo, the brown thrasher showed up at the bird feeder.  I have not seen them for a while so I am wondering if it might be the pair we have in the yard every year!    

I told Jerry we need to make another bird feeder..one for big birds that like large seeds like sunflowers and then one for the little birds like finches.   Happy to report I homemade feeder has still had no squirrel access!   Too high and too far away for jumping and no way to climb up the pole!   

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.