Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Sunrise

I was almost late to the campus this morning because I keep interrupting my "getting ready" to step out onto the upstairs deck to take a look and sigh. Usually the morning colors are in the eastern sky, but this morning the cloud bank in the west lit-up with the rising of the sun. This view was spectacular.

The view all throughout the day was worth pausing for -- walking to the classroom this morning just after 8:00 and then when I exited the classroom at 12:45, the sky and all the surrounding foothills and their beauty was quite distracting.

I was the afternoon substitute in the Writing Center, so when I made my exit at 3:00, I walked out into the rain . . . just a light sprinkle. But as we ate dinner this evening the rain poured. The rain came down so fast, that our patio looked like it was going to flood into our family room; it didn't, but it was a little frightening. Then we lost power for more than 30 minutes. So I lit every candle in the house.

Late in the evening Mr. Fun found a fairly large frog (or maybe it was a toad) in the pool near the bottom at the deep end. He rescued it with the skimmer scoop and then took it to a safe place.

Loved the rain today.

Good night from Southern California,
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.