Carol: Rosie & Mr. Fun

By Carol

Sandy before Surgery

This morning Sandy was on her way into surgery when her daughter captured this photo. The surgery that Sandy is facing is minor compared to what she was first told -- that she would need a double mastectomy because of the type of cancer. Here is Sandy's explanation that I received several days ago in email:

"I was diagnosed a few weeks ago with a triple-negative breast cancer and will have surgery on 10/11, baring any complications. My surgeon suspects that because of my family history, I possibly might have the BRCA gene. Because of my age and other medical reasons, however, she feels that a lumpectomy would be the best route to go at this time. She told us that if I am BRCA positive that there is an 80-90% chance that cancer will appear in the other breast within 2-2-1/2 years. Obviously we are praying that I will be negative!!! Please join us in that prayer. This is a very aggressive type of cancer and since it is a triple-negative cancer there is no medication that can be given to fight the cancer, so both radiation and chemotherapy will be required. We are praising God that it has been caught early and are praying that there is no lymph node involvement."

This photo was placed on Facebook by Sandy's youngest daughter. So I'm confessing that I didn't actually take it, but I thought it was quite hilarious. Her daughter wrote: "Mom being her bratty self when I took her pic in her pretty blue surgery cap! Lol"

This is the comment that I wrote on FB: "She is an original! AND her blood runs in your veins; you are blessed with her spunk, creativity, and giftedness. We are praying for all of you!"

We've known Sandy and her husband, Tim, for years and love them immensely.

That's it from Southern California.
Rosie (& Mr. Fun), aka Carol

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.