בתולה

If you are kind (or bored) enough to read my blips as they appear, you'll have noticed that they are usually several days in arrears. There was a time - certainly back in the Tumblr days of daily blogging - when I made a point of posting 'on the day'. Now I often take a photo and mull on what I want to say for a little while. 

This photo is a good example. I had lunch today with my friend, Janet, in Lymm. I've known her for just under twenty-five years and I find myself happy and relaxed in her company, which inevitably led to a very pleasant meal and chat. After we'd said goodbye, I nipped back to take a shot of this Nativity scene in the centre of the town.

I knew I wanted to say something about this: the token person of colour king - whereas, of course, there would have been no Europeans present - linking to our arrogance on the global stage. And how perhaps the one positive of Brexit is that that will be wholly and irrefutably punctured.  

But, in the end, I felt bored at the prospect; there was nothing new to say, Plus, regarding my feelings regarding the Nativity, well, I've written about how I feel about Jesus here and, on reflection, I don't think I wanted to go into that again. 

On balance, I think I just want to say that much as I'm against Brexit - strongly so, in fact - I think the calamity to follow might serve as the consequence to our hubris. And maybe that's no bad thing.

****
-13.0 kgs
0 words

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.