Looking down on the town

I was up and out early this morning with the boys, and walked a lot further than planned.  I really like that time in the morning when it's quiet, the shops are just opening and there aren't many people around.  Having the boys with me always makes people stop, and this morning a chap from the local macaron shop came out to talk - he said he's got four maltesers!

Anyway, I walked out of the village and then decided to follow the road into the vineyards.  It was cloudy but the sun kept peeping through and the light on the town was lovely - this was taken when I was at the top of the vineyards looking down.

We were out for an hour in total, and on the way back the boys sat in the nativity again, much to the delight of the passers by.  So many people took their photograph while they happily sat there being the centre of attention.

After breakfast mum, Alan and I went out for a wander while the boys slept.  It was a lot busier today, but everything closed up in the afternoon as the French celebrate Christmas on Christmas Eve.  We had a drink at the wine cave again and then came back to the apartment so I could cook our Christmas dinner. 

We've just face-timed Rachel and the girls who are very excited, I've had a lovely chat with CharlotteJane in Fiji - hope Santa's been now CJ! And we're all relaxing - I think it'll be an early night tonight, but first Alan and I are going to take the boys back out for a walk.  I have memories from the last time we were here at Christmas five years ago, of taking Louis out and hearing all the families laughing and celebrating inside their homes.  There was something nice about being on the outside, looking in.

Anyway, I wish you all a very happy Christmas and hope you're having a good time x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.