Paper Power, Snodland

Today was so much better weather-wise today, almost as if the world had been made anew compared to yesterday's bleakness. Therefore, I felt it was an ideal day to carry on with my "The Valley In Between" project. This time I thought I would try following a different path through the valley to see where it went. In this case the path, which was on a raised bank, followed the tight bends of the river and gave an up close view of the paper plant on the opposite bank. The plant is owned by company with the rather magnificent name of Smurfit Kappa Townsend Hook and they make approximately 250,000 tonnes of containerboard (no me neither!) every year.
Luckily, the sun lit up the steam being released from the plant and the reeds on the riverbank - it was a very arresting sight, so I decided the shot would be enhanced by shooting right into the sun. The extra shot shows how much the river turns back on itself in this location. I'm very glad I followed the path now, I had no idea where it went or where it would come out but sometimes you have to go with your instinct.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.