Why did I come in here?

By Bootneck

Rocky

Friends have returned from their annual 6 months in the States. They collected a few stones and plenty of newly made stone/flint arrow heads. They kindly gave me two gorgeous arrow heads, which will feature soon. This stone made my jaw drop when I first saw it in sunlight this morning.

There is a description for it but none of us know what it really is. My basic geology from O level geography all those years ago tells me it is igneous bordering on original stone. ie it started to reach melting point in a volcanic molten mass but then cooled. Fractions of the original stone can be seen while tortuous bends and filled hollows are, I think, from molten rock which cooled around the unmelted rock.

If there is a geologist amongst us who can put me straight please go ahead and rip my layman's knowledge apart. :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.