Galette des Rois

In the last week I've discovered this French pastry, puff pastry that is with a filling of almond cream made with eggs, sugar and almond flour - January 6th - Epiphany celebration cake.  I don't really need an excuse, but this looked intriguing and when I read that it was ok to make it anytime in January I was hooked. So in between editing MRI reports today, it was built.  I must say it's tasty!  I could make this a tradition.  

Also of note, the temperature finally got above freezing today and the big thaw is on.  The icicles are dripping from the rooftop, the pavement is once again visible in certain locations and the sun did shine.  Supposed to reach close to 50F by Friday - it's the January thaw before the next storm I think.

In extras - it looks like we had a visitor on the screened porch overnight and the little munchkin cat is happily sleeping away his pain medication and antibiotics by the fire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.