Whoosh whoosh

At last we managed a few nice runs. We got a 3 day pass, having saved €200 by not getting the 6 day one as we’d not have used it. However they were slow to get runs open - safety issues - so there were enormous queues as only the Olympique gondola was going out of Val. We did the 2 runs open at the top of that, twice, then noticed further lifts were open so we headed down another strangely cambered run to the Grad Pre lift. By the time I’d taken a blip at the top of this new sign, the light got really low, so we headed the 2km down to get the lift back up to the gondola. The Olympic black run La Face was open but not for us. I have no ambitions in that direction.

After lunch the light was still poor, and as another chair out of the resort in the other direction had opened, Mr C went for a recce - there used to be a reasonable route back to the chair but they have abandoned it and put in a new chair at the bottom of a narrow run which had a scary drop off one side that I found too scary. He thinks it will be ok for me. I’m not sure.

We are going to walk up the valley for a couple of km to visit our friends for supper. They have a wonderful chalet and stay most of the winter. I hope we get our confidence in time as though they are expert skiers, they are also very patient, very encouraging and great teachers so will be suggesting runs tomdo together I know. I hope not to be a wimp,

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.