Legacy

By Legacy

Golden Eyes

Her name is Dharma and she's half grey wolf and half arctic wolf. She's the alpha female of her pack at Wolf Park in Battleground, Indiana, a behaviorial observation and educational center devoted to raising public education and awareness of the important role wolves play in nature. She's one of a pack of seven and a total of seventeen wolves who live at the park where a devoted staff and volunteers provide a protected environment for them.

Rob and I started out early this morning and reached Battleground after about a 2+ hour drive. We were met by the staff photographer, Monty Sloan, who I had met in 1987 when I was a volunteer at Wolf Haven, a wolf sanctuary in Washington State. For several years I took photographs of the wolves there for their adoption program. It was an experience I'll never forget and I can't describe how good it made me feel to help such a worthy and important cause.

Monty is a world-class wildlife photographer and expert on wolves. He does photographic seminars and educational presentations at Wolf Park. He introduced us to Dharma and her daughter, Fiona. Eventually most of the pack appeared -- we met Woton, the alpha male and the Butterscotch Boys, two rare blonde wolves. Can't tell you how much I enjoyed my "wolf reunion" -- It made me wish I could go back to working with them.

The weather was perfect -- warm and clear, and even the rumors of rain in our future couldn't put a damper on this day.



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.